Year Particular
1836 – 60 Govt. High School, Sagar (established. at Sagar in 1836)
1860 Affiliated to Calcutta University
1860 – 68 Mr. G. Wiggnis, Principal, Collegiate School, Sagar
1868 – 69 Mr. J. Kibble, Principal
1870 – 73 Mr. G. Thompson, Principal
1871 Hostel started at collegiate school Sagar, Mr. Elijah Jacob was the first prefect.
1873 – 74 G. Thompson, Principal, Govt. College, Jabalpur
1885 Govt. Arts Degree College
1885 – 91 Mr. W. Young, Principal
1885 B.A. Degree course introduced (High School continued)
1891 – 93 Mr. J. Firth, Principal
1891 Affiliated to Allahabad University
1891 Law & Engineering subject at Graduate Level Introduced
1893 Govt. Degree College, Arts. Location shifted to Rajkumar College Hostel Building (Lakh-khana) (present PSM Hostel)
1896 Govt. Degree College of Arts and Science
1896 – 97 Sir Henry Sharp, Principal
1897 – 98 Colin H. Browning, Principal
1898 – 1902 Sir Henry Sharp, Principal
1902 – 04 Colin H. Browning, Principal
1904 – 05 K. B. Williamson, Principal
1905 – 06 Mr. Knox, Johnson, Principal. Science subjects confined to B.Sc.
1906 – 07 Mr. K. B. Williamson, Principal
1908 – 10 Mr. R. M. Spence, Principal (Founder of Spence Training College, P. S. M.)
1910 – 11 Mr. Arthur E. Jones, Principal
1911 – 16 Mr. Arthur C. Sells,  Principal
1912 (Aug) College Magazine “Narbada” Editor Prof. W.S. Rowland, Published for the first time.
1914 Formation of Literary Society
1916 Robertson College, Jabalpur
1916 Inauguration of New Robertson College. College shifted from Lakh-khana building to new building, situated at present Engineering College, Civil Wing. The College was named after Mr. Benjamin Robertson who inaugurate this college on 14 – Oct. 1916
1917 Formation of Historical Society
1916 – 26 Mr. Arthur C. Sells, Principal
1923 Formation of Philosophical Society with Prof. W. S. Rowland as President and Shri V. S. Jha on 30/8/1923 as Secretary
1923 Affiliated to Nagpur University
1925 Sir P.C. Ray delivered Extension Lectures on Hindu and European Chemistry
1926 Sir C.V. Raman delivered Extension Lectures on Raman Effect
1926 Rai Bahadur Hiralal Extension Lecture on Kalchuris of Tripuri
1926-38 Mr. W. S . Rowlands, Principal.
1928 Post Graduate Classes started in Hindi (first in Old M. P.)
1930 Dole Memory Trophy for Science Student.
1932 Formation of Hindi Cultural Society. President – Dr. S. P. Verma, Secretary – Bhagwandas Dubey.
1933 Mr. M. B. Niyogi, V. C. Nagpur University, delivered Extension lectures on “Philosophy of life”.
1933 Student Union came into existence for the first time. Sardar Rajendra Singh: President and Mr. M. W. Vaidya : Secretary
1933 Inauguration of Students Union by Pandit Madam Mohan Malviya.
1936 Robertson College Centenary Celebration.
1938 – 39 M. M. Ganguli (First Indian Principal of Robertson College and founder of M. P. Home Guards.)
1939 Mr. Jwala Prasad, Principal
1939 P. G. started in English
1939 – 42 Mr. Hirde Narayan, Principal
1942 – 47 Dr. S. C. Dhar, Principal
1945 P. G. Started in Applied Mathematics
1946 Bio Group in B.Sc. introduced
1947 Affiliated to Saugor University, Sagar, M. P.
1947 Rename Mahakoshal Mahavidyalaya after Independence.
1947 – 55 Dr. M. G. Shabde, Principal
1947 Geology Group in B.Sc. introduced
1948 Graduate in Physics introduced
1950 Post Graduate in Physics introduced
1952 Post Graduate in Geology and Zoology introduced
1955 Post Graduate in Chemistry introduced
1956 – 58 Dr. R. L. Nirula, Principal
1956 The College shifted in the present building, SCL-Pachpedi, Jabalpur
1957 Affiliated to Jabalpur University.
1958 – 62 Shri U. D. Mukherjee, the First Robertsonian to be Principal of the college.
1962 Govt. Science College and Mahakoshal Arts and Commerce College carved out of Mahakoshal Mahavidyalaya.
1962 – 66 Shri G. R. Inamdar, Principal
1963 Publication of the first College Magazine “Jyotirmayee”
1964 Inauguration of Social Gathering by then Hon. Minister for Industries Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma.
1966 – 70 Dr. S. N. Kaveeshwar, Principal
1970 – 73 Shri K. S. Rathore, Second Robertsonian to be the Principal of the College
1972 Military Science Group in B.Sc. introduced
1973 -74 Dr. M. C. Rao, Principal
1974 – 77 Dr. M. G. Nene, Principal
1977 – 80 Dr. K. C. Jain, Principal
1980 – 88 Shri S. K. Mishra, Third Robertsonian to be the Principal.
1985 The College renamed Govt. Model Science College.
1986 Celebration of Post Centenary function. Chief Guest: Shri Motilal Vora (Chief Minister M. P.) Presided by Shri Chitrakant Jaiswal (Education Minister M. P.)
1988 Environmental Science Subject in Post Graduation Introduced.
1988 – 90 Dr. R. B. Malviya, fourth Robertsonian as Principal.
1990 Granted Autonomous Status by the UGC
1990 – 93 Dr. R. N. Tripathi, Principal
1991 Electronics, Industrial Chemistry and Environmental Science in B.Sc. introduced
1992 National Seminar on “Swadeshi Pran Vigyan” Dr. S.P. Sharma Convenor, Dr. Murli Manohar Joshi (National President B.J.P) Chief Guest, Shri Sunderlal Patwa (Chief Minister M. P) President.
1993 – 94 Dr. Smt. Vijaya Chouhan, The First woman Principal and First Principal from Humanities.
1994 – 96 Dr. M. B. Patel the Fifth Robertsonian as Principal.
1995 – 96 Computer Application and Computer Maintenance Introduced as Vocational Courses at B Sc level
1996 – 97 Dr. N. S. Wadhera, Principal
1997 Dr. Smt. S. Tripathi ,Sixth Robertsonian as Principal
1997 – 2000 Dr. O. P. Sharma, Principal
1998 National Seminar, Golden Jubilee Celebration of Geology Department.
1999 Microbiology and Biochemistry Subjects in U. G. level Introduced
2000 – 04 Dr. Smt. Shibani Chatterjee, Seventh Robertsonian as Principal.
2000 Geohydrology Subject at U. G. level introduced.
2000 National Seminar on “Gantatra Evam Rashtrawad” to Celebrate Golden jubilee of India Republic.
2001 ‘Biotechnology ‘ Subject as a vocational courses Sanctioned by UGC New Delhi and Introduced at U. G. level
2002 Centre of Excellence in Science Education declared by the MP Govt.
2002 Accredited “A” Grade by the NAAC, Bangalore
2002 Bachelor of Computer Application (BCA) introduced
2004 College with Potential For Excellence : UGC – New Delhi
2004 – 06 Dr. Sureshwar Sharma (former VC RDVV), Principal
2006 – 10 Dr. (Smt.) Anupama Ganguly, Principal
2007 All the Departments facilitated with Broad Band internet connections individually. Inspection of the college by the C P E Review Committee, U G C New Delhi.
2008 Visit of autonomy review team of the UGC in June 2008
2009 Organised National Seminar on “Quest for Quality– Use of Innovative Practices”
2010 – 14 Dr. Smt. Agnes Thakur, Principal
2011 Re-accredited “A” Grade by the NAAC, Bangalore
2014-15 Dr. Sudhir Kumar Shrivastava  I/C Principal
2015 Dr. O.P.Sharma  I/C Principal
2015 Dr. M. K. Mishra (Joined on 27 July 2015), Eighth Robertsonian as Principal
Received Heritage Status Grants from the UGC, New Delhi.
2016 Dr. A. L. Mahobia Principal, (joined on 25 May 2016)